Cupcake Week! Day 2: Lemon Lavender Lust Cupcakes

“These cupcakes taste like spring-light, sweet, and delicious. The zesty lemon frosting is amazing, and goes well with the subtle flavors of the spongy lavender cake. Perfect for tea time, these make you want to smile!” -Kara Caputo, taste tester and cupcake namer

And for those who are worried lavender will taste like soap…

“I was originally put off at the thought of lavender in my food, because it normally belongs in soaps, detergents, and perfumes, but once I had a bite, I moved past this thought. The lavender was subtle enough to be enjoyable and not make you think you’re eating soap and the lemon frosting goes really well with the lavender.” -Nic Sherman, taste tester

Lemon Lavender Lust Cupcakes

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup light coconut milk

1 Tbs canola oil

2 eggs

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup honey

1 Tbs tapioca flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 Tbs lavender flowers (the kind you would steep to make tea)

1. Mix milks, oil, eggs, sugar and honey in a large bowl until smooth.

2. Add flours, salt, baking powder, and baking soda to the same bowl and mix until combined.

3. The lavender is tricky. The flowers need to be broken up for their flavor and fragrance to release. I used a small food processor tilted at an angle so that the flowers wouldn’t just sit at the bottom. You could also chop the flowers with a knife, although that didn’t work very well for me. Once chopped, mix flowers into batter.

4. Pour into muffin tins and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Light Lemon Frosting

I decided I don’t like towers of thick, heavy frosting on my cupcakes. Although thin frosting isn’t at pretty, I think it tastes better.

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1 cup powdered sugar

2 Tbs lemon juice

1 Tbs lemon zest

1. Whip cream with high speed mixer until cream becomes thick and forms stiff peaks.

2. Add powdered sugar, lemon juice, and zest, and mix until smooth and fluffy.

And the camera practice photos…perhaps not appropriate for a food post. Oh well!

3 thoughts on “Cupcake Week! Day 2: Lemon Lavender Lust Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: My Paleoish Wedding Cupcakes | Paleo Plan

  2. Pingback: My Paleoish Wedding Cupcakes | Paleo Plan | Latest Convection Ovens

Leave a comment