Cupcake Week! Day 1: I Love You Very Matcha Cupcakes

Spring break has recently taken on a new dimension. For the past four months I have looked forward to returning to Mill Creek to work on a long standing project. The only thing that could stop me were inclement weather conditions. Since Mill Creek sits in a valley of the La Sal Mountains, melting snow frequently runs down the routes, rendering a few of the classics unclimbable in the spring months. However, it was not this misfortunate that put a kink in my trip, but yet another bizarre foot injury I’ve inflicted on myself. Somehow, I’ve managed to aggravate a nerve in my foot to the point where I can hardly flex it inward. So, in an effort to heal before summer plans start rolling, I decided to stay home in Boulder over spring break. Although devastating at first, this decision led me to the mission of finding a new way to spend my break. Thus, Cupcake Week was born! Come back each day for a new invented-by-me-from-scratch recipe. Each recipe gets it’s own original name, thanks to the help of my dear friend and devoted taste tester Kara Caputo, whose cupcake critiques will grace each post (for better or worse).  Additionally, I recently got a new camera, and am struggling through the dslr learning curve. So, for anyone who cares to follow my photography progress (i.e. my friends whose dogs are my test subjects), take a look. For any kind soul who has some advice for improvement, please don’t hesitate to comment. Without further ado, welcome to Cupcake Week!

Good thing taste made up for lack of aesthetic appeal..

I Love You Very Matcha Cupcakes

3/4 cup light coconut milk

3 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cup coconut palm sugar

1/3 cup almond flour

1/3 cup coconut flour

1/3 cup oat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons matcha powder

Blend coconut milk, eggs, vanilla, and sugar in large bowl. Add dry ingredients and mix. Yep, a one bowl recipe.

Frosting:

1/2 cup powdered sugar

4 tablespoons coconut milk

3 tablespoons honey

1/2 teaspoon beet powder

Blend.

Reviews:

“These little cakes have so matcha flavor! They prove that the initials P.C. not only stand for Paige Claassen, but also Perfection Confection. Green tea is one of my all time favorite flavors, but unfortunately few dare to use it. This is one of my absolute favorite uses for the rare flavor!” -Kara Caputo

“To top things off, the icing creates a texture affair. It combines the right amount of crisp with a humble but delightful touch of sweetness.” -Nic Sherman

The most patient of models, Zala

2 thoughts on “Cupcake Week! Day 1: I Love You Very Matcha Cupcakes

  1. Hey, why don’t I get to test cupcakes?! Also, try using coconut oil in your frosting. It’s a solid, and the best way I’ve found to get that fluffy look and texture without butter. There are also coconut “butters” out there that work quite well and lend great flavor to chocolate or fruity frostings. You’ll want a standing mixer to get the lumps out. That, or a strapping assistant who is willing and able to whisk for ten minutes.

    • Ooo, thanks Ali! The frosting initiative got pushed to the wayside thanks to an overly eager taste tester (ahem, Kara). I’ll try that today!

Leave a Reply

